The Temple


alahalli Sree Ayyappan Temple is located in Bengaluru, Karnataka state of India. This is the first Ayyappa Temple of Karnataka. Devotees consider this Ayyappa Temple as the Sabarimala of Karnataka and the second Sabarimala of India. The first Sabarimala of India is situated in Kerala, the God’s own country. Ayyappa temples are always popular pilgrim centres for devotees from not only different parts of India but the whole world. This is one of the busiest temples in Karnataka with daily poojas and other activities. Here the installation ceremony was conducted in the year 1967. On all 365 days, the temple provides annadhanam to its devotees.

Other attractions of this temple includes Sree Ayyappa Educational Charitable Trust, Sree Ayyappa Medical Centre and 2 schools. Now the trust members are V.V.Kunjikannan(President), A.Mohankrishnan(Vice President), V.R.Nair(Secretary), J.C.Vijayan(Joint Secretary), K.K.R.Nambiar and A.V.Babu. Some important festivals of Jalahalli Sree Ayyappa Temple are Mandalam-Makaravilakku, Onam, Vishu, Maha guruthi, Deepavali and Ganesh chathurthi. Mandalam-Makaravilakku seasons are the famous festivals of Ayyappa temples situated in different parts of India.



he new Sreekovil is in the model of Sabarimala Sreekovil for Lord Ayyappa. New sub-shrines were also built for Lord Ganapathi, Devi Durga, Lord Subramanian, Navagrahas and Nagadevathas. The re-installation ceremony of Lord Ayyappa, Lord Ganapathy and Devi Durga were performed on 26th April 2004 and Lord Subramanian in 2005 by the then Chief Priest of Holy Sabarimala Late Brahmasree Thazhaman Madham Neelakantararu Thanthri. Navagraha prathishta was peformed on 8th June 2006 by Brahmasree Thazhaman Madhom Rajeevaru Thanthri. New Valiyambalam, Vilakkumadam, Balikkalppura and Thidappalli were also built. Kumbhabhishekam of New Rajagopuram in traditional Kerala style and new Teakwood Dhwajasthambham with Gold covering was also performed, making this Temple entirely built on aesthetical Vaastu style, as designed by Vaastu exponent Cheruvalli Narayanan Namboodiri. Marvellous workmanship of expert wood and Stone Master Craftsmen can been seen in every structure of this renovated Temple. The wood work is done with special teak wood from world famous Nilambur forests and stone work is done with special ‘Krishnasila’.

Jalahalli Sree Ayyappan Temple Trust



Sri S. Sivarajan


Vice President

Sri V. Chellappan Nair



Sri K.K.R Nambiar


Join Secretary

Sri K. Narayanan



Sri P. Vishwanathan


Joint. Treasurer

Sri D.K. Krishnakumar